Thursday, January 21, 2010

After Midnight

First, a note: I have been sort-of trying not to drink so much coffee. The past couple morning workouts I've done, I've skipped the pre- coffee (usually I drink a very small cup, with cream). Unfortunately, this has not yielded very good results. It's hard to tease out whether the workouts Monday and today were sluggish because I need more rest or because my body is used to a little caffeine in the early morning. Or (likely) both.

Anyway, Mike started the morning with a test: max reps rows to the bar. I got 14, chest didn't touch on the 15th.

Then he wrote this on the board: "Gotham After Midnight."
20 DUs
20 squats
10 box jumps
10 push-ups
5 burpees
5 pull-ups

Doesn't seem so bad, I thought. Then he wrote, "12 RDS."

Time: 38:15

Obviously this was not a short workout, but it shouldn't have taken THIS long. The worrisome thing was not that I slowed down towards the end, but that I started really slow. I felt like I was missing that shot of energy that you get hearing the "3, 2, 1, go!" My double-unders got better, not worse, in the last 4 rounds.

I don't know much about the physiology of overtraining, but I think I just didn't get much adrenalin going at the start of things. Last night I had a weird, sudden allergic reaction to being in a carpeted room: sneezing, then coughing uncontrollably, then wheezing and tightness in my chest and back, a wet cough with deep chest congestion, tachycardia, itchy palms, etc. I took benadryl, which helped a bit, and then slept a whole lot. But I wondered, might I have had this allergic reaction because I didn't have the adrenalin to balance out my normal immune response to allergens? (Thinking: "adrenalin" is epinephrine, right? and that's what you give someone with a severe allergic response, like anaphalaxis). Clearly, someone with more medical knowledge would have to answer this question.

No comments:

Post a Comment