Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Bad eating --> bad results

The past couple days I've come home from school with a crazy, ravenous appetite. I go from snack to snack totally unsatisfied. Maybe it's part stress-eating, maybe hormonal, or maybe also that I need more of something in my diet. I thought about what that could be and imagined eating a tablespoon of olive oil, so maybe it's fat. I'm also pretty dehydrated. Whatever it is, it isn't good and feels a bit out of control.

Anyway, I wasn't even going to blog what I ate -- it was a lot to type out, and not all good things. But it's there, below. After I ate a handful of cereal and a spoonful of vanilla ice cream the craving for those things went away, but I got sleepy and sluggish and watched tv lying on the couch. That's something I never do in the afternoon. Then my workout felt crappy. Stiff, achey, etc.

Workout:

3x3 presses: 85, 85, 90#

Then 4 rds for time:
400m run
50 squats
Time: 10:18

My last time for that wod was 9:35, but I wasn't sure about the timing because it was on the wall clock of the gym. Thus, I may have done it faster that time; it's equally possible that I did it faster today. My back got really tight during the sprints and I ran out of energy. My first 400 was 1:20 and they got much slower after that.

Food:
breakfast: coffee with cream (big cup), 2.5 eggs scrambled, 2 strips bacon
snack: almonds
lunch: turkey-pumpkin chili, an orange, coffee with cream
snacks: 2 spoons almond butter, piece of beef jerky, sweet potato with butter, another orange, tea with cream
bad snacks: handful of "shredded spoonful" cereal, spoonful of ice cream
dinner: grilled chicken breast, asparagus in olive oil, salad (greens, tomatoes, ginger dressing)

No comments:

Post a Comment